Thursday, June 20, 2024
NewsRide Hailing newsTaxi industry newsTrucking

Authorized Towing Companies in each MTO/GTA Restricted Tow Zone Pilot

All authorized towing service providers will have the sticker above on their vehicle to identify their involvement in the Tow Zone Pilot. Photo: MTO

Ontario launched its Restricted Tow Zone Pilot on December 13th, 2021, in an effort to reduce shady practices by towing company operators.

Restricted towing zones are defined sections of provincial highways in which only authorized towing companies can remove vehicles that require a tow. This means no other towing company can solicit towing of vehicles within a restricted towing zone.

In a restricted towing zone, you must use an authorized towing company. Authorized towing companies under contract for each restricted towing zone as listed on the Ministry of Transportation (MTO) website are:

Restricted towing zoneAuthorized towing companies
Zone 1Abrams Towing
Zone 1Classic Towing & Storage
Zone 2Fellows Towing
Zone 2Bill & Son Towing
Zone 3JP Towing Service & Storage Ltd.
Zone 4JKM Towing Inc.
Zone 4ABC Towing

If you need assistance in a restricted towing zone, call 911 if it is an emergency or if you are in a travelled lane and cannot safely move your vehicle to a safe location. Call 511 if you are in a safe location and you need a tow (on the recorded phone menu, select the option for the “Tow Zone Pilot” which is the first item on the outgoing message, sample below).

The locations of the pilot are:

  • Restricted Towing Zone 1: Highway 401 from Highway 400 east to Morningside Avenue
  • Restricted Towing Zone 2:
    • Highway 401 from Highway 400 west to Regional Road 25
    • Highway 427 from QEW to Highway 409
    • Highway 409 from Highway 427 to Highway 401
  • Restricted Towing Zone 3: Highway 400 from Highway 401 to Highway 9
  • Restricted Towing Zone 4: QEW from Highway 427 to Brant Street

MTO’s website notes that Classic Towing & Storage is temporarily assigned to Zone 1 and will move to Zone 2 as of February 1, 2022.